You are here: Home > Details for IoE Number: 264062  

Print Page



© Mr Michael Perry

IoE Number: 264062
Location: TUDOR COTTAGE, BROADWAY STREET (north side)
  BROADWAY, SOUTH SOMERSET, SOMERSET
Photographer: Mr Michael Perry
Date Photographed: 24 January 2006
Date listed: 04 February 1958
Date of last amendment: 04 February 1958
Grade II*

The Images of England website consists of images of listed buildings based on the statutory list as it was in 2001 and does not incorporate subsequent amendments to the list. For the statutory list and information on the current listed status of individual buildings please go to The National Heritage List for England.

ST31NW BROADWAY CP BROADWAY STREET (north side)3/7 Tudor Cottage4.2.58

ST31NW BROADWAY CP BROADWAY STREET (north side) 3/7 Tudor Cottage 4.2.58 GV II* Farmhouse. now dwelling C16, altered and extended C18, restored early C20. Squared and coursed local stone, Ham stone dressings, thatched roof, brick stack left gable end, to right of through passage and set in from gable end right, Plan: 3-cell and cross passage facing south, extended one bay west, now garage, outshot at rear. Two storeys, 3 bays, 5-light mullioned window left, 2- and 3-light windows right, ground floor 5-light hollow chamfer stole mullioned window cut flat on reverse, replica 3-light stone mullioned windows to right of entrance, garage doors end bay right; hooded thatched porch to C20 studded plank door. Interior: plank and muntin screen with cambered head to kichen, chamfered beams with step and runout slops, large recess to right of fireplace, cambered head to outhot. Hall with chamfered lintel and chamfered stone jambs to fireplace, chamfered beads with unusual stops, probably imported early C13 straight stair with opening string, turned balusters, moulded handrail and square newel with turned finial, plank and muntin screen to inner roof with cambered head, Three pairs of jointed cruck trusses at east end, 2 pairs of framed collar beam trusses west. Hall stack rising independently between 2 cruck trusss with 'a frame of long converging studs' described in 1972 by Sir R de Z Hall as 'unique in our experience so far'. There is said to be evidence of smoke blackening, otherwise this would have seemed to be an obvious example of an open hall house. In the 1920s and '30s the house belonged to the well-known Taunton antique dealer Captain Halliday and he is known to have imported and altered some features on the ground floor. (VAG Report, unpublished SRO, December 1972; photograph in NMR),

Please note that the inclusion of a listed building on this website does not mean it is open to the public.