You are here: Home > Details for IoE Number: 66750  

Print Page

© Ms Jenny Leathes ARPS

IoE Number: 66750
Photographer: Ms Jenny Leathes ARPS
Date Photographed: 04 October 1999
Date listed: 12 September 1989
Date of last amendment: 12 September 1989
Grade II

The Images of England website consists of images of listed buildings based on the statutory list as it was in 2001 and does not incorporate subsequent amendments to the list. For the statutory list and information on the current listed status of individual buildings please go to The National Heritage List for England.

ILLOGANCOT ROADSW 64 SE(west side)5/194Eastern Lodge

ILLOGAN COT ROAD SW 64 SE (west side) 5/194 Eastern Lodge with associated gate piers II Entrance lodge to Tehidy Park. Probably 1790's, for Francis Basset Lord de Dunstanville. Coursed killas rubble with granite quoins and dressings, thatched roof. Octagonal plan with prominent porch. One and 1½ storeys, in Picturesque style, with a very prominent 1½-storey porch which has a triangular arched outer doorway with imposts, and a wider gable carried on 3 tiers of moulded corbels and containing a small casement window of 2 arched lights with an emphatic hoodmould, and a steeply-pitched roof projected from the main roof, with prominent boarded verges under deep thatch. The inner doorway has a hoodmould, the canted side walls have 2-light casements with similar hoodmoulds, and the low thatched roof forms a deep canopy carried round, with a chimney at its apex. Rear and interior not inspected. The gate piers forming a carriage gateway and side gate at the entrance to the drive are granite ashlar monoliths of square section with panelled fronts, square cornices and low pyramidal caps. The lodge matches South Lodge, South Tehidy, in form and style (q.v.); both served Tehidy House, Tehidy Park, home of the Basset family (q.v.).

Please note that the inclusion of a listed building on this website does not mean it is open to the public.