You are here: Home > Details for IoE Number: 413238  

Print Page



© Dr Tony Phillips

IoE Number: 413238
Location: WINDMILL, MILL SIDE
  STANSTED MOUNTFITCHET, UTTLESFORD, ESSEX
Photographer: Dr Tony Phillips
Date Photographed: 16 April 2003
Date listed: 26 November 1951
Date of last amendment: 26 November 1951
Grade II*

The Images of England website consists of images of listed buildings based on the statutory list as it was in 2001 and does not incorporate subsequent amendments to the list. For the statutory list and information on the current listed status of individual buildings please go to The National Heritage List for England.

STANSTED MOUNTFITCHETMILL SIDE5222WindmillTL 5024 47/71226.11.51

STANSTED MOUNTFITCHET MILL SIDE 1. 5222 Windmill TL 5024 47/712 26.11.51 II* GV 2. Red brick round tower mill built in 1787 for Joseph Linsell (the date is scratched on a brick). It was last worked as a mill in 1910. In 1929 it was bought and restored by Lord Blyth. The wood cap was rebuilt but the shutters were not restored to the sails. A unique feature of the cap is an oval shutter with a ladder beneath it for use when the cap is painted. The mill is of 5 storeys, with 3 raised bands around the tower. The mill is now used as a Boy Scout centre and is in good repair. AM.

Please note that the inclusion of a listed building on this website does not mean it is open to the public.