You are here: Home > Details for IoE Number: 470518  

Print Page



© Mr Richard Storey

IoE Number: 470518
Location: THE PILLAR OF SALT ROAD SIGN, ANGEL HILL
  BURY ST EDMUNDS, ST EDMUNDSBURY, SUFFOLK
Photographer: Mr Richard Storey
Date Photographed: 14 July 2006
Date listed: 17 September 1998
Date of last amendment: 17 September 1998
Grade II

The Images of England website consists of images of listed buildings based on the statutory list as it was in 2001 and does not incorporate subsequent amendments to the list. For the statutory list and information on the current listed status of individual buildings please go to The National Heritage List for England.

TL 8574 SE BURY ST EDMUNDS ANGEL HILL 639-1/8/10001 The Pillar of Salt Road Sign GV II Road sign. 1935. By Basil Oliver, architect to Bury St Edmunds T own Council. Whitewashed concrete and metal. International Modern style. Large octagonal pier has austere slightly oversailing lantern on top and projecting box-framed road signs in three directions. It stands on a plinth with steps and small corner octagonal piers. The 'Pillar of Salt', as it is known, forms the centre point of a very significant group of listed buildings and stands close to the former Abbey gatehouse. HISTORY. The Town Council went to great lengths to find something worthy of this important location when increased motor traffic made signing essential. Basil Oliver advised on the design and at the time when road signs were being standardised under the 1933 Regulations, this sign is individual and probably unique. It was approved by the Ministry of Transport in June 1935 subject to the letters and road numbers being 5" high. This was a compromise since the new standard was for letters 4.5" high and numbers 6" high. Bibliography Statham, M, The Book of Bury St Edmunds, 1988; MOT, The History of Traffic Signs, 1991.

Please note that the inclusion of a listed building on this website does not mean it is open to the public.